Citation Styles: MLA citations

Cite An Image/Reproduction of a Work of Visual Art from the Web (Academy of Art University Library Image Citation Guide)

Artist’s last name, first name. Title of artwork. Year. Name of institution/private collection housing artwork. Title of database or website. Publisher/sponsor of database or website. Medium consulted. Date of access.

Notes:  Use c. to indicate the image was created circa ..., if no year is given, use N/A. About publisher/sponsor: When known, include if it is not related to the housing institution/collection; is a parent entity of the database or website; or offers the source in additional formats.

Examples:

Braun, Adolphe. Flower Study, Rose of Sharon. c. 1854. Metropolitan Museum of Art. Grove Art Online. Oxford Art Online. Oxford University Press. Web. 2 June 2011.

Currin, John. Blond Angel. 2001. Indianapolis Museum of Art. IMA: It’s My Art. Web. 9 May 2007.

Eggleston, William. Memphis. c. 1969. Museum of Mod. Art. Academy of Art University Collection, LUNA. Academy of Art University. Web. 27 Apr. 2011.

Lange, Dorothea. The Migrant Mother. 1936. Prints and Photographs Div., Lib. of Cong. Dorothea Lange: Photographer of the People. Web. 9 May 2007.

For more information, see section 5.6.2.d, “A Work on the Web Cited with Publication Data for Another Medium Besides Print,” in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed.

In-text or parenthetical citations in MLA style consist of the author's last name and the page number of the quote or paraphrase. Given that there can be duplicate information, a lack of an author(s)' name, or no page number (as in the case of online web-sources), the information required to create the in-text citation can vary. 

• If there is an author and it is a print source, list the author's last name and the page number.
• If there is no author and is a print source, list an abbreviated title of the work, and the page number. Book titles should be in italics and article titles in quotation marks. 
• If it is an online source, do not provide a paragraph or page number. Do provide the author's information or an abbreviated title of the web source. 

Examples:

• Williams hypothesizes that the rapid change in reading trends of young adults is due, in part, to the successful advertising of similar entertainment on television and on the internet (25). 
• The creation of a central database that houses complete citations for commonly cited books and articles would be entirely too difficult to maintain (Hammons, Evans, and Fugate 134).
• Developing new technology for the classroom is "integral to the continued success of education in the United States..." ("Educational Technology" 23). 

In MLA, a works cited page lists the references used in the paper. The works cited page should always start on a brand new page at the very end of the document. If there are notes to the paper, these should precede the works cited page.

The title of the page should be "Works Cited" and it should be cenetered at the top of the page. The one inch margins used throughout the paper should be maintained.

Unique to the works cited page is the hanging indent that should occur on the second line and any following lines of the citation. The hanging indent should be set at .5 in. 

Below are links that can assist you in formatting your citations.