Research Guides: English & Literature: Library Resources

Library Databases

DCC Catalog
Search books, ebooks, databases, and open-access resources.
Ebook Central
Search ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
EBSCO
Search a variety of publications and content type simultaneously or individually: journals, magazines, newspapers, ebooks, biographies, reports, primary sources, dissertations, government documents...
Gale Academic
Search millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—extensive coverage in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
ProQuest
Search a variety of publications and content type simultaneously or individually: journals, magazines, newspapers, ebooks, conference papers, reports, dissertations, business cases, global trade news, vocational resources...
NewsBank
Search current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.

Open Access | Arts & Humanities

ArchiveGrid
Search primary source materials from over 1,000 different institutions: archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
Artsy
Browse and search content from galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions; 350,000 images by 50,000 artists spans historical, modern and contemporary works, and includes the largest online database of contemporary art.
DPLA
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Google Arts & Culture
Virtual collections from around the world with artworks photographed in high resolution. Create and share collections of masterpieces.
OAPEN Library
Contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
Open Library of Humanities
Search peer-reviewed academic articles from classics, modern languages and cultures, philosophy, theology and history, to political theory, sociology, anthropology, film and new media studies and digital humanities.